Corporation Bank awards MSMEs


Corporation Bank awarded 21 awards to outstanding entrepreneurs led micro, small and medium enterprises under different categories in at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. The awards were christened as the National MSME Excellence Awards 2008. The Awards were presented by Shri Pranab Mukherjee, Hon'ble Union Finance Minister.

The Awards were given to the following Outstanding MSMEs declared by the Jury Members: a] Micro Enterprise - Monarch Computers Pvt. Ltd, Mumbai, b] Small Enterprises – 1] Commercial Engineers & Body Builders Co. Pvt. Ltd., Jabalpur 2] Rossari Biotech Ltd., Mumbai, 3] Apex Laboratories Pvt. Ltd., Chennai, 4] Freshtrop Fruits Ltd., Ahmedabad, 5] Abharan Jewellers, Udupi, 6] Gateway TechnoLabs Pvt. Ltd., Ahmedabad, 7] Prashant Gamatex Pvt. Ltd., Ahmedabad 8] Ficus Pax Pvt. Ltd., Bangalore, 9] Subhashree Garments, Tirupur 10] Premier Solar Systems Pvt. Ltd., Secunderabad. c] Medium Enterprises – 1] Aditya Auto Products & Engineering (India) Pvt. Ltd., Bangalore 2] Sipra Engineers Pvt. Ltd, Mumbai, 3] Maharani Paints (India) Pvt. Ltd., Faridabad, 4] SeQuent Scientific Limited [formerly P I Drugs Pharmaceuticals Ltd.], Thane. 5] Chordia Food Products Limited, Satara, 6] Gemini Communication Ltd., Chennai, 7] Pratibha Pipes & Structural Ltd., Mumbai, 8] Emmbi Polyarns Ltd., Mumbai, & 9] Spacewood Furnishers Pvt. Ltd, Nagpur d] Emerging Corporate - Koutons Retail India Ltd., New Delhi.

Shri Namo Narain Meena, Hon'ble Union Minister of State for Finance was the Guest of Honour. Shri J.M.Garg, Chairman & Managing Director of the Bank, Shri Asit Pal & Shri Narendra Singh, Executive Directors, Shri Lalit Kumar, Government Nominee Director, Shri M.A.Srinivasan, RBI Nominee Director, Shri A. Mohan Rao, Chief General Manager, General Managers & Executives of the bank were present on the occasion.

The Awards selection was a stringent process from 40,000 entries 12,800 were shortlisted. The Selection was based on Triple Bottom Line criteria, Financials & Growth Pattern, Eco-friendly Initiatives, & Contribution to Social Development & Development of Talent & Human Resources. The short listing of the Units was done by analysis of Data based on four Parameters Sales, Net Profit, RON & ROC.

The final selection of the Awardees was done by a panel of Jury comprising of Shri Kishore Biyani, Group Chief Executive Officer, Future Group, Dr. Manoj Vaish, President & CEO India, Dun & Bradstreet Information Services India Pvt. Ltd., Shri P. C. Nayak, IAS [Retd], Dr. R. H. Patil, Chairman, The Clearing Corporation of India Ltd., Shri R. M. Malla, Chairman & Managing Director, Small Industries Development Bank of India, Ms. Roopa Kudva, Managing Director & CEO, CRISIL Ltd., Shri Rajesh Dubey, Managing Director & CEO, SME Rating Agency of India Ltd., Shri T. N. Ninan, Editor & Publisher of Business Standard Ltd. & Dr. N.K.Thingalaya, Former Banker & Economist.

Shri Asit Pal, Executive Director of the Bank proposed Vote of Thanks

The award, in its second year, is first of its kind, initiated by any public sector bank. The objective of the awards is to encourage and recognise some of the outstanding MSME-entrepreneurs in the country.