Three Indians honoured in US for their contribution in materials science and engineering


Three Indians and as many persons of Indian origin are among 29 people, who have been named as Fellows this year by the American Society for Metals, for their contributions in the field of materials science and engineering. The Indian Fellows are Pradeep Goyal, Vivekanand Kain, and Gankidi Madhusudhan Reddy, while the Indian origin achievers are Pranesh Aswath, Suveen Mathaudhu, Muthukumarasamy Sadayappan. The fellowship was created in 1969 to provide recognition to ASM members for their distinguished contributions to materials science and engineering, and to develop a broad based forum of technical and professional leaders to serve as advisers to the society.

Goyal is the chairman and managing director for Pradeep Metals Ltd. in Navi Mumbai. He was chosen for his establishment of the internationally known "Industrial Microwave Research Center" in India, for his success in environmental and energy improvements in ore and petrochemical processing industries using new technologies, and for his work in steel production technologies and facilities. Aswath is a professor and associate dean at the University of Texas at the Arlington.

He was selected for his significant contributions to the science of tribology through establishing fundamental relationships between lubricant additive chemistry, tribofilm formation and friction and wear, according to a statement from the organisation. Mathaudhu is an assistant professor at UC Riverside and he was selected for his scientific leadership, management, and advocacy of the US Army materials research efforts, and in particular for the development and support of new advanced lightweight metals and bulk nanostructured materials.

Kain, a professor and scientist at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in Mumbai was selected by the ASM for significant contributions focused on understanding and controlling corrosion in nuclear power plants, especially the corrosion of stainless steel and nickel and zirconium based alloys. Reddy, a scientist at the Defense Metallurgical Research Lab in Hyderabad was picked up for his outstanding contributions in welding science and technology with special emphasis on the development of solutions enabling the fabrication of critical components used in defence and aerospace applications.

Sadayappan is a research scientist at Canmet Materials, NRCAN in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. He was selected as a Fellow for his significant contributions to the field of non ferrous foundry metallurgy and solidification processing. The solicited guidance, which the Fellows will provide, will enhance the capability of ASM as a technical community of materials science and engineering in the years ahead, the statement said. The fellows will be presented with their awards for the recognition during the Materials Science and Technology 2015 event in Columbus, Ohio, in October.

Image Credit: Shutterstock


Updates from around the world