Amazon Web Services

Amazon Web Services

AWS Mobility Awards 2017: The winners take it all

By Deepika Singhania
June 05, 2017, Updated on : Thu Sep 05 2019 07:23:30 GMT+0000
AWS Mobility Awards 2017: The winners take it all
  • +0
    Clap Icon
Share on
  • +0
    Clap Icon
Share on
Share on

App-based solutions are the new “it” thing for startups, and Indian entrepreneurs are matching their global counterparts when it comes to innovation and investments in the space. Today, a smartphone is di rigueur for just about everybody, and the applications loaded onto the phone are how startups, both young and old, are trying to make our lives easier and the world we live in better.

To recognise the contribution and achievements of startups working in the space, Amazon Internet Services Private Limited (AISPL), joined hands with Sequoia India, Facebook, and Intel for the AWS Mobility Awards 2017. The awards aimed at discovering the most innovative startups and enterprises that offer mobile-based solutions.

Bikram Singh Bedi (Head of Amazon Internet Services) takes centre stage

The grand finale of the AWS Mobility Awards 2017 was held in Bengaluru on June 1, 2017. The vibrant evening to felicitate the winners saw a gala-like atmosphere. “We were delighted to see this level of enthusiasm, which confirms the extraordinary potential that we believe India has to be a global leader in the mobility and IoT space. I expect to see many of these ground-breaking ideas brought to market, where they will have a very positive impact on our nation. The winners of the AWS Mobility Awards will have a unique opportunity to be mentored by industry experts,” said Bikram Singh Bedi, Head at Amazon Internet Services Pvt. Ltd

“India is at the cusp of a startup revolution, and I am happy that AWS is supporting this movement and awarding innovators in the mobility space. Every encouragement matters to startups. And it's great to see such recognition coming their way with this award,” said Shradha Sharma, YourStory CEO and Editor-in-Chief.

The awards were divided into two categories – Industry and Special. The Industry category was further classified as Established (for apps released on or before 30 June 2015) and Emerging (for apps released on or after 01 July 2015).

Here are the winners from the Industry category:


Established: The award went to Goibibo, which is a well-known travel booking app for flights & hotels.

Emerging: The award went to GetMyParking, an app that makes driving easier by aggregating parking information in real time and allowing a driver to search, book & navigate to a desired parking location.

Retail & e-commerce

Established: The award under this category was given to BigBasket, an online food and grocery store that offers a wide variety of products.

Emerging: The award went to Crownit, a marketing and consumer data analytics platform, helping brands and retailers connect with consumer groups across the country.

Financial Services

Established: This category saw Mobikwik, a widely used app for mobile payments, shopping and recharge, walk away with the prize.

Emerging: The winning award went to Chillr, an Indian fintech startup that makes mobile banking & financial transactions simple for its users.

Media & Entertainment

Established: Hotstar, one of the most comprehensive catalogues ever offered on mobile and the web for Indian customers, was a clear winner for this category.

Emerging: The award went to Awesummly, an instant news app that delivers pocket-sized news of your interest in realtime.

From L to R: Bikram Singh Bedi (Head of Amazon Internet Services), Ashesh (Hotstar) and Abhijit Bose (Co-Founder & CEO, EzeTap)

Healthcare & Fitness

Established: The award went to Practo, a technology firm which enhances patient experience by enabling clinics across India with their products.

Emerging: DocsApp, an app that provides instant and private consultations from experienced and qualified doctors, walked away with the winning prize

L to R - Anandamoy Roychowdhary (Sequoia Capital India), Practo's Abhinav and Rajesh Sawhney (Founder of GSF Accelerator)


Established: BYJU’s, an edtech company that offers learning programmes for competitive exams by using original content, watch-and-learn videos, rich animations and interactive simulations, won in this section.

Emerging: The winner was Toppr, a learning app for K-12 students that organises learning into four modules: video lectures, practice, tests and asking doubts

Enterprise Mobility

Established: The award went to FreshDesk, a startup that enables companies to provide multichannel support via phone, email, chat, website, social networks, and mobile apps

Emerging: The award under this category went to Vymo, a mobile-first personal sales assistant that helps drive your sales and productivity with a direct impact on revenue growth.

Food & Hyperlocal

Established: Swiggy, a very widely used food ordering and delivery solution walked away with the award

Emerging: Chaipoint, an F&B retail brand that aims to cater to the hot beverage needs of the working Indian, won in this category.

The Special award category had eight happy winners:

Deep Tech

This category had two winning names - Haptik and Haptik is an app that acts as a personal assistant with a genius mode that runs on AI. on the other hand, is an AI powered bot that simplifies the ordering experience, and works through a simple chat interface

Facebook Platform

This award gave Goibibo its second winning moment for the evening. Goibibo is a very well-known travel booking app for flights & hotels

SheLeads Tech

The winning prize went to CultureAlley, a mobile app that offers self-paced audio-visual lessons and interactive practice exercises online

Product ISV

The winner in this category was CleverTap, an app-based startup that integrates analytics and engagement into one consolidated, comprehensive and out-of-the box solution, to allow businesses to segregate and target their users

From L to R: Ravi Gururaj (Founder & CEO at QikPod), Almitra (CleverTap) and Satyajeet Singh (Head-Strategic Product Partnerships, Facebook)

App Developer

The award was given to Robosoft Technologies, a digital product design and engineering company that specialises in end-to-end mobile app development


Uncanny Vision, a technology company focused on computer vision on embedded systems, walked away with the prize in this category

Not For Profit

The award was given to Loop, a not-for-profit organisation, which brings together technology and social organisations to improve agriculture, health and nutrition

Winners of the AWS Mobility Awards