India wins T20 Blind Cricket World Cup, defeats Pakistan by 9 wickets


Blind cricket is a version that was adapted for partially-sighted and blind cricketers and has been managed by the World Blind Cricket Council (WBCC) since 1996. Four One-Day International World Cups have been held until now and one in the shorter version of the game was conducted for blind cricketers in 2012. Team India have recently clinched their second T20 trophy in a row, beating Pakistan by nine wickets.

Source: Zee News

M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru witnessed the final, where India chased down the target of 198 runs with nine wickets and 14 balls to spare. Pakistan, winning the toss and opting to bat first, scored a total of 197/8 in 20 overs. Later, Prakasha Jayaramaiah, the Indian opener, scored 99 runs, bringing the team to a commanding position. With the other opener, Ajay Kumar Reddy, scoring 43 runs, things became simpler for India. Top scorer Prakasha finished the game, with India scoring 200/1 in just 17.4 overs. India had won the inaugural T20 World Cup against Pakistan, beating Pakistan by 29 runs in the final.

This version, however, was invented by two blind factory workers in Melbourne in 1922. They tried improvising their game with a tin of rocks. Soon enough, The Victorian Blind Cricket Association was founded in 1922. In 1928, a sports ground and clubhouse were also established for these cricketers in Melbourne.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the triumphant team on Twitter and legendary master blaster Sachin Tendulkar soon joined in.

The Indian team made their way through to the finals with eight wins in nine matches. The only loss was against Pakistan in the group stages. Pakistan, on the other hand, won all their games until the final.

Do you have an interesting story to share? Please write to us at To stay updated with more positive news, please connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.


Updates from around the world